Pinewood Elementary and East Gaston High teachers win mini-grants

GASTONIA – The Gaston County Education Foundation awarded a group of East Gaston High School teachers, as well as a Pinewood Elementary School teacher, hundreds of dollars in mini-grants.

The mini-grants, ranging from about $450 to $1,500, were given to teachers looking to fund innovative teaching methods. Nearly 30 Gaston County teachers were awarded more than $28,000 in grant money.

East Gaston High School science teachers Brian Johnson, Electa Farr, Angela Congelli and Kaci Wilcox won a $620 mini-grant for their Discovering Biodiversity through Insect Collection Project. Pinewood Elementary School second grade teacher Kelly Scott won a $568.85 mini-grant for Literacy with Technology program.

Lennon launches school blog

CHARLOTTE – Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools District 1 representative Rhonda Lennon launched a blog this summer to share her thoughts on school district business and issues.

Lennon represents north Mecklenburg County, including the towns of Huntersville, Cornelius and Davidson and the Mountain Island area, on the Board of Education. Her blog can be found at

Former Vance High principal to head Whitewater Middle

CHARLOTTE – Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools announced June 12 that Vance High School principal Valarie Williams will serve as principal of Whitewater Middle School.

Williams, who served as principal of Vance High since 2010, is one of five principals the district reassigned, leaving Vance High without a principal.

A Charlotte-Mecklenburg spokesperson did not say why former Whitewater Middle principal Stephanie Wade left the school.

Bradley Middle inducts National Junior Honor Society members

HUNTERSVILLE – Bradley Middle School inducted more than 40 students into the school’s National Junior Honor Society.

Inductees for the spring class were selected based on scholarship, leadership, character, service and citizenship. Dawn Robinson, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools Northwest Zone Superintendent, served as the ceremony’s guest speaker.

The following students were inducted:

Brittany Adams, Nathan Allen, Joshua Bales, Zachary Bennett, Jacob Berg, Zachary Braun, Rachel Butler, Madison Carroll, Claire Christman, Tori Dera, Michael Dorgan, Connie Francovig, Alexys Gabriel, Ryan Gillie, Hayden Gresham, Madison Griffin, Jade Grimes, Rachel Gurley, Lindsay Hall, Bailey Harris, Christopher Hill, Matthew Hines, Taylor Isherwood, Christopher Koehler, Abby Lawrence, Nicole Long, Alexandria Lutz, David Marin, Hannah Martin, Mayla Ngo, Arianna Onoh, Nicole Pehan, Abigail Poindexter, Renee Rapp, Caroline Rhinehardt, Sara Ruse, Riley Seltzer, Sarah Sisk, Paige Steimel, Hayley Strickland, Benen Tarpley, Aditit Tripathi, Luke Webb and Grace Wilson.

Cindy Elder serves as faculty advisor, and Karen Koury, Shelia Lester, Mandy Price, Kathy Vey and Erin Williams serve as faculty advisory councilors.

Local scholars recognized

as valedictorians and salutatorians

CHARLOTTE – Six area students were recognized as Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools valedictorians and salutatorians for the 2011-12 school year.

• Hopewell High School: Jeb Smith, valedictorian; and Joseph Setzer, salutatorian.

• West Mecklenburg High School: Hailey Christina Mooney, valedictorian; and H’Liem Colieng, salutatorian.

• East Gaston High School: Shelby Winchester, valedictorian; and Jordan Bishop, salutatorian.

Awards and Honors

• The Burger King Scholars Program named Alexa Rowland of Hopewell High School a recipient of a $1,000 scholarship award. The program has awarded more than 17,000 scholarships totaling $17.6 million since 2000.

– Compiled by Tori Hamby

Did you like this? Share it:

Leave a Reply