Sierra Club endorses incumbents in county commission races

The Central Piedmont Group of the Sierra Club recently announced endorsements of Harold Cogdell Jr., Dan Murrey and Jennifer Roberts, all incumbents seeking re-election to at-large seats on the Mecklenburg County Board of County Commissioners on Nov. 2.

In a news release, Bill Gupton, chairman of the Sierra Club chapter, said, “As chair of the county commissioners, Jennifer Roberts has demonstrated strong leadership on critical environmental issues. Harold Cogdell and Dan Murrey have recognized the importance of promoting policies and programs that will advance air and water quality, land conservation, greenways, energy efficiency and mass transit.”

The Sierra Club also has endorsed Elaine Marshall, the Democratic candidate for U.S. Senate, and Mel Watt, the Democrat seeking re-election to the state’s 12th Congressional District.

In N.C. Senate races, the Sierra Club has endorsed Fletcher Hartsell, of Concord, and Dan Clodfelter, Charlie Dannelly and Malcolm Graham, all representing parts of Mecklenburg County.

In N.C. House races, the Sierra Club has endorsed Tricia Cotham, District 100; Beverly Earle, District 101; Becky Carney, District 102; Ruth Samuelson, District 104; and Martha Alexander, District 106.

The Sierra Club is a national environmental group with nearly 14,000 members in North Carolina and more than 2,000 in the Central Piedmont Group.

Did you like this? Share it:

Leave a Reply